LIU Post Wind Symphony

Dr. James W. McRoy, Conductor

With over fifty years of history, the Band Program at LIU Post provides university students with outstanding performance and educational opportunities, featuring on-campus performances at Tilles Center for the Performing Arts, and off-campus performances at local venues, as well as regional, state and national conferences.

In the last eighteen years they have produced 24 CD/DVD recordings, sponsored eleven regional band festivals, hosted multiple performance workshops, commissioned and premiered seven original works for concert band, and have been chosen to perform in two state music conferences. Annual Band Festivals have included week-long residencies with composers such as David Gillingham, Mark Camphouse, Frank Ticheli, Timothy Mahr, Roger Cichy, Philip Sparke, Julie Giroux, Martin Ellerby, and Rossano Galante. They have travelled on 10-14 day international performance tours, and performed to standing ovations in Puerto Rico (2015), China (2012), and Central Europe (2009). The next tour will be to Australia and New Zealand in 2018.

Since 1998, the bands at LIU Post have amassed a performance repertoire of well over 400 different works by classic to contemporary composers. University band ensembles include a Wind Ensemble with flexible instrumentation, a large Wind Symphony, and a Pep Band.

The Wind Symphony is a full-sized modern wind band of about eighty performers, this ensemble is composed of both graduate and undergraduate musicians. Repertoire is drawn from a variety of styles and musical periods, carefully chosen in order to stimulate a high degree of musical growth for each member. Newly commissioned works are often performed alongside original and transcribed music for band. While a high level of performance is demanded of every player, enrollment is open to all accomplished musicians (music and non-music majors) depending upon space. Entrance and seating auditions take place at the beginning of each semester.

Rehearsals: Tuesday and Thursday, 6:30 - 8 p.m.