The 73rd Annual Polk Award Winners

The 73rd Annual George Polk Awards in Journalism, honoring journalists in 18 categories for their reporting in 2020 that provided critical insight into some of the most profound events of our time.

Read More


For over 70 years, LIU has been the proud home of the George Polk Awards in Journalism, the first major award of its kind to recognize reporting across all media. This prestigious honor focuses on the intrepid, bold, and influential work of the reporters themselves, placing a premium on investigative work that is original, resourceful, and thought-provoking. Among the many journalism greats who are Polk laureates are Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, Walter Cronkite, Edward R. Murrow, Christiane Amanpour, I.F. Stone, Isabel Wilkerson, James Baldwin, Russell Baker, Norman Mailer, Seymour Hersh, and more. 

Honoring Intrepid Reporters

The George Polk awards are conferred annually to honor special achievement in journalism. Winners are chosen from newspapers, magazines, television, radio and online news organizations. Judges place a premium on investigative work that is original, requires digging and resourcefulness, and brings results.

Legacy of George Polk

In May 1948, while covering the civil war in Greece between the authoritarian government and the communists, CBS correspondent George Polk's body turned up floating in a bay, hands and feet bound, shot at point-blank range in the head.

An insider's view of the historic George Polk Awards in Journalism

Continue Reading

John Darnton, Curator
Ralph Engelman, Faculty Coordinator

Panel of Advisors

Lawrence Altman
Ken Auletta
Larry Bensky
Lowell Bergman
Carl Bernstein
Donald Bird
Ralph Blumenthal
C.J. Chivers
Stephen Engelberg
Karen Frillmann
Juan Gonzalez
Martin Gottlieb
Geri Hearne
Bob Herbert
Seymour Hersh
Edward Hershey
Len Hollie
Alex Jones
Abby Kenigsberg
Jennifer 8. Lee
Joseph Lelyveld
Charles Lewis
Elizabeth Llorente
David S.C. Liu
Sarah Lyall
John Marshall
Jane Mayer
Melvin McCray
David Medina
Peter Osnos
Jennifer Rauch
Frank Rich
Gene Roberts
Robert Rosenthal
Paul Salopek
Ellen Schultz
Rhonda Schwartz
Adam Seesel
Stephen B. Shepard
E.R. Shipp
Curtis Stephen
Ray Suarez
Margaret Sullivan
A.C. Thompson
Ginger Thompson

About Submissions

Attn: Ralph Engelman
The George Polk Awards

© The George Polk Awards — Long Island University, 1 University Plaza, Brooklyn NY 11201