SOCIAL WORK

Social Work


Social work is a profession dedicated to helping people obtain the help they need to improve their lives and health. Social workers are employed in a variety of settings, including mental health clinics, schools, child welfare and human service agencies, hospitals, and private practices.

The first accredited social work program in Brooklyn, the bachelor's and master's programs in Social Work places emphasis on working with the growing geriatric population; with racially, ethnically and socially diverse groups; and with immigrant populations. The LIU Brooklyn Social Work curriculum is tailored to reflect and to respond to the educational needs of a non-traditional, ethnically diverse student body, that will in turn, work with an equally diverse population of more than 4 million people in Brooklyn.

Undergraduate Programs Graduate Programs
Bachelor of Science in Social Work Master of Social Work (M.S.W.)

Faculty and Staff

Joanne Rees, XXX | Co-Chairperson | jo.rees@liu.edu | HS 214 | (718) 780-4520

Jessica Rosenberg, XXX | jessica.rosenberg@liu.edu

Victor Lushin, XXX | victor.lushin@liu.edu

Akiva Perlman, XXX | akiva.perlman@liu.edu

Telvis Rich, XXX | telvis.rich@liu.edu

Rebecca Rivera, XXX | rebecca.rivera@liu.edu

Liat Shklarski, XXX | liat.shklarski@liu.edu

Zulema Suarez, XXX | zulema.suarez@liu.edu

Menachem Dubovick, XXX | menachem.dubovick@liu.edu

Yovanka Green, XXX | yovanka.green@liu.edu

Justyna Rzewinski, XXX | justyna.rzewinski@liu@liu.edu

Stephanie Jenkins, XXX | stefanie.jenkins@liu.edu

Richard McCalmont, XXX | richard.mcCalmont@liu.edu

Why Study Social Work at LIU Brooklyn?

  • We are the first social work program in Brooklyn accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)
  • We offer both a bachelor and masters degree programs.
  • We have clinical affiliations with a wide range of top health care facilities, organizations, and clinics within Brooklyn, around New York City, and across the tri-state area, where students complete fieldwork placements and find post-graduate employment.
  • We offer a choice of five concentrations in the advanced year of graduate study in our MSW program: Child and Family Welfare, Forensic Social Work, Gerontology, Nonprofit Management, and Substance Use and Other Addictive Behaviors

For more information on Social Work at LIU Brooklyn, email bkln-social-work@liu.edu or call (718) 488-1025.

CONTACT

School of Health Professions

Stacy Jaffee Gropack, Dean