Contact Us

University Faculty Senate


(from the Preamble of the UFS Constitution, March 6, 2006):

The University Faculty Senate (“UFS”) is both the governance body of the Faculty of the University (“the Faculty”) and, is the primary, although not the only, structure through which the faculty as a University faculty communicated with the Board of Trustees (“the Board”) and Administration (“the Administration”).  The UFS is responsible for the formation and expression of the views of the Faculty primarily on matters transcending the interests of the individual campuses, excluding those issues addressed through collective bargaining. Each of these bodies, the UFS, the Faculty and the Board, is essential to the effective functioning of Long Island University. Moreover, their mutual engagement is fundamental to the life of the University. Collegiality and trust among the Faculty, the Board, and the Administration are essential to realizing the University’s mission of access and excellence in higher education.

The Board and the Faculty recognize the special role of the UFS in University governance. Both parties pledge that no action with respect to this Constitution will be taken without prior consultation, discussion  and agreement in conformity with the terms specified by this Constitution.


Name Department Campus Email


Hildi Hendrickson Sociology & Anthropology Brooklyn
Sara Gronim History Post
Maura Belliveau Management Post
Executive Committee:
Edward Keane Library Brooklyn
Eric Lichten Sociology & Anthropology Post
Herb Sherman Managerial Sciences Brooklyn
Henry Cohen Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy


Agnes Cha Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy
Emily Walshe Library Post
Jiamin Wang Management Post
John Lutz English Post
Katherine Dimitropoulou Occupational Therapy Brooklyn
Kathleen Kesson Education Brooklyn
Larry Banks Media Arts Brooklyn
Nancy Frye Psychology Post
Jocelyn D'Antonio Nursing Brooklyn Jocelyn.D'
Roberta Levitt Special Educ. & Literacy Post
Samuel Watson Chemistry & Biochemistry Brooklyn
Shaireen Rasheed CEIT Post
Srividhya Swaminathan English Brooklyn
Sue Moon Management Post
Timothy Nguyen Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy
Wendy Ryden English Post

Ex Officio Members:

Stan Klein Pol. Sci. & Int’l Studies Post
Rebecca States Physical Therapy Brooklyn