Due to weather conditions, all classes at the LIU Post, LIU Brentwood and LIU Riverhead scheduled after 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday 2/20, are cancelled. All essential personnel should report to work as scheduled. Check LIU.edu for updates.

Biology Faculty

Biology Department Faculty


Theodore J. Brummel
Associate Professor of Biology
B.A., Transylvania University
Ph.D., University of California Irvine
theodore.brummel@liu.edu

Tracy L. Callender
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.A., Hunter College, CUNY
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
tracy.callender@liu.edu

Kent A. Hatch
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S., Brigham Young University
M.S., Ph.D., University of Wisconsin – Madison
kent.hatch@liu.edu

Karin A. Melkonian
Chair and Advisor, Pre-Medical Sciences Advisement Committee;
Associate Professor of Biology
B.A., Connecticut College
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
karin.melkonian@liu.edu

Scott Santagata
Assistant Professor of Biology
Graduate Adviser, Biology Department
B.S., University of Rhode Island
M.S., American University
Ph.D., University of Southern California
scott.santagata@liu.edu

William A. Schutt, Jr.
Professor of Biology
B.A., LIU Post
M.A., SUNY Geneseo
Ph.D., Cornell University
william.schutt@liu.edu

Snekser, Jennifer
Assistant Professor of Biology
B.S., Canisius College
M.S., St. Joseph’s University
Ph.D., Lehigh University
jennifer.snekser@liu.edu

Stephen T. Tettelbach
Professor of Biology
B.S., University of Miami
M.S., University of Washington
Ph.D., University of Connecticut
stephen.tettelbach@liu.edu