Contact Us

University Faculty Senate

DESCRIPTION OF UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE

(from the Preamble of the UFS Constitution, March 6, 2006):

The University Faculty Senate (“UFS”) is both the governance body of the Faculty of the University (“the Faculty”) and, is the primary, although not the only, structure through which the faculty as a University faculty communicated with the Board of Trustees (“the Board”) and Administration (“the Administration”).  The UFS is responsible for the formation and expression of the views of the Faculty primarily on matters transcending the interests of the individual campuses, excluding those issues addressed through collective bargaining. Each of these bodies, the UFS, the Faculty and the Board, is essential to the effective functioning of Long Island University. Moreover, their mutual engagement is fundamental to the life of the University. Collegiality and trust among the Faculty, the Board, and the Administration are essential to realizing the University’s mission of access and excellence in higher education.

The Board and the Faculty recognize the special role of the UFS in University governance. Both parties pledge that no action with respect to this Constitution will be taken without prior consultation, discussion  and agreement in conformity with the terms specified by this Constitution.

UNIVERSITY FACULTY SENATE MEMBERSHIP (2013-2014)

Name Department Campus Email

Officers:

Hildi Hendrickson Sociology & Anthropology Brooklyn Hildi.Hendrickson@liu.edu
Sara Gronim History Post Sara.Gronim@liu.edu
Maura Belliveau Management Post Maura.Belliveau@liu.edu
Executive Committee:
Edward Keane Library Brooklyn Edward.Keane@liu.edu
Eric Lichten Sociology & Anthropology Post Eric.Lichten@liu.edu
Herb Sherman Managerial Sciences Brooklyn Herbert.Sherman@liu.edu
Henry Cohen Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy Henry.Cohen@liu.edu

Members:

Agnes Cha Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy Agnes.Cha@liu.edu
Emily Walshe Library Post Emily.Walshe@liu.edu
Jiamin Wang Management Post Jiamin.Wang@liu.edu
John Lutz English Post John.Lutz@liu.edu
Katherine Dimitropoulou Occupational Therapy Brooklyn Katherine.Dimitropoulou@liu.edu
Kathleen Kesson Education Brooklyn Kathleen.Kesson@liu.edu
Larry Banks Media Arts Brooklyn Larry.Banks@liu.edu
Nancy Frye Psychology Post Nancy.Frye@liu.edu
Jocelyn D'Antonio Nursing Brooklyn Jocelyn.D'Antonio@liu.edu
Roberta Levitt Special Educ. & Literacy Post Roberta.Levitt@liu.edu
Samuel Watson Chemistry & Biochemistry Brooklyn Samuel.Watson@liu.edu
Shaireen Rasheed CEIT Post Shaireen.Rasheed@liu.edu
Srividhya Swaminathan English Brooklyn Srividhya.Swaminathan@liu.edu
Sue Moon Management Post Sue.Moon@liu.edu
Timothy Nguyen Pharmacy Practice Pharmacy Timothy.Nguyen@liu.edu
Wendy Ryden English Post Wendy.Ryden@liu.edu

Ex Officio Members:

Stan Klein Pol. Sci. & Int’l Studies Post Stanley.Klein@liu.edu
Rebecca States Physical Therapy Brooklyn Rebecca.States@liu.edu