Contact Us

Department of Political Science

Political Science Department

The Political Science Department’s central mission is to help students become informed citizens and effective professionals. We offer a comprehensive curriculum that includes the B.A. in Political Science and the M.A. in Political Science and examines domestic and international power structures, socioeconomic relations, and the building blocks of public life — government, ideas and activity — in their domestic, international, comparative, geographic and theoretical dimensions. We seek to further the University’s vision of “a learning community dedicated to empowering and transforming the lives of its students to effect a more peaceful and humane world that respects differences and cherishes cultural diversity; improving health and the overall quality of life; advancing social justice and protecting human rights; reducing poverty; celebrating creativity and artistic expression; rewarding innovation and entrepreneurship; honoring education and public service; and managing natural resources in an environmentally-responsible, sustainable fashion.”