Contact Us

Department Contacts

The English Department

Humanities Building, Fourth Floor 
LIU Brooklyn 
One University Plaza
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Department phone: 718-488-1050
Department fax: 718-246-6302

Full-Time Faculty & Administrators

Carol Allen
Humanities 462
718-488-3374
carol.allen@liu.edu

Michael Bennett
Humanities 430
718-780-4039
michael.bennett@liu.edu

Melissa Antinori Berninger (Assistant Director of the Writing Program)
Humanities 441
718-780-4322
melissa.antinori@liu.edu

Wayne Berninger (Undergraduate Advisor)
Humanities 454
718-780-4328
wayne.berninger@liu.edu

Michael Bokor
Humanities 446
718-488-1112
michael.bokor@liu.edu

Marilyn Boutwell (Graduate Advisor)
Humanities 455
718-246-6336
marilyn.boutwell@liu.edu

Leah Dilworth
Humanities 463
718-488-1108
leah.dilworth@liu.edu

Sealy Gilles
Humanities 460
718-780-4329
sealy.gilles@liu.edu

Jessica Hagedorn
Humanities 217 (Media Arts)
718-488-1092
jessica.hagedorn@liu.edu

Lynn Hassan (Associate Director of the Writing Center)
Humanities 218 (Writing Center)
718-488-1116
lynn.hassan@liu.edu

Jonathan Haynes
Humanities 442
718-780-4319
jonathan.haynes@liu.edu

John High
Humanities 215 (Media Arts)
718-488-1675
john.high@liu.edu

Patrick Horrigan
Humanities 461
718-780-4074
patrick.horrigan@liu.edu

John Killoran
Humanities 432
718-488-1000 then extension 1923
john.killoran@liu.edu

Donald McCrary
Humanities 456
718-780-4316
donald.mccrary@liu.edu

Maria McGarrity
Humanities 429
718-780-4588
maria.mcgarrity@liu.edu

Harriet Malinowitz (Director of the Writing Center)
Humanities 218 (Writing Center)
718-780-4032
harriet.malinowitz@liu.edu

Charles Matz
Humanities 426
718-488-1114
charles.matz@liu.edu

Deborah Mutnick
Humanities 459
718-488-1110
deborah.mutnick@liu.edu

Louis Parascandola
Humanities 464
718-488-1109
louis.parascandola@liu.edu

Robert Pattison
Humanities 424
718-488-1000 then extension 2818
robert.pattison@liu.edu

Thomas Peele (Director of the Writing Program)
Humanities 458
718-488-3357
thomas.peele@liu.edu

Bernard Schweizer
Humanities 445
718-488-1098
bernard.schweizer@liu.edu

Michael Sohn (Faculty Development Coordinator for the Writing Program)
Humanities 431
718-488-3351
michael.sohn@liu.edu

Patricia Stephens (Co-Chair of the Department, 2012-2013)
Humanities 457
718-488-1096
patricia.stephens@liu.edu

Srividhya Swaminathan (Co-Chair of the Department, 2012-2013)
Humanities 443
718-780-4323
srividhya.swaminathan@liu.edu

Lewis Warsh (Director of the Creative Writing MFA Program)
Humanities 216 (Media Arts)
718-780-4337
lewis.warsh@liu.edu