Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Expand the tabs below to view a snap shot of all the important dates you need to be aware of each academic semester.

Final Exam Schedules

Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law –
Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.


Labor Day-holiday Monday, September 4
Weekday classes begin Wednesday, September 6
Registration and program changes Wednesday - Tuesday, September 6 - 19
First weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, September 9-10
Awarding of September degrees Friday, September 15
Convocation Day Tuesday, September 19
Registration and program changes end Tuesday, September 19
Last day to apply for comprehensive examination Friday, October 6
Registration Begins for Spring 2018 (tentative date) Monday, October 9
Last day to apply for January degree Friday, October 20
First weekend session final examinations/last class meeting Saturday-Sunday, October 21-22
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, October 28-29
Election Day-classes in session Tuesday, November 7
Last day to withdraw from full-semester course(s) Friday, November 10
Wednesday follows a Friday schedule Wednesday, November 22
Thanksgiving holiday Thursday, November 23 - Sunday, November 26
Classes resume Monday, November 27
Second weekend session final examinations/last class meeting Saturday-Sunday, December 16-17
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end Thursday, December 14
Last day to submit thesis Friday, December 15
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Friday - Thursday, December 15-21
Winter recess begins Friday, December 22

Intersession Classes Begin Tuesday, January 2
MLK Day - No Classes Monday, January 15
Final Class Meeting/Final Exam Tuesday, January 16

Weekday classes begin Monday, January 22
Registration and program changes Monday, January 22 - Sunday, February 4
Awarding of January degrees Friday, January 19
Semester classes meeting Saturday-Sunday begin Saturday-Sunday, January 27-28
First weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, January 27-28
Registration and program changes end Sunday, February 4
Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 28
President's Day-no classes Monday, February 19
First weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, March 10-11
Spring recess begins Monday, March 12
Classes resume Monday, March 19
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday March 17-18
Last day to withdraw from to withdraw from full-semester course(s) Friday, April 6
Last day to submit thesis and complete degree requirements Friday, May 4
Second weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, May 5 -6
Semester classes meeting Saturday-Sunday end Saturday-Sunday, May 5 -6
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end Monday, May 7
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Tuesday-Monday, May 8-14
Commencement Ceremony Tuesday, May 15
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 18

Summer I
Weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, May 19 - 20
Last day to add Weekend Session Class Sunday, May 20
Weekday classes begin Monday, May 21
Registration and program changes end for weekday classes Tuesday, May 23
Memorial Day-holiday Saturday-Monday, May 26 - 28
Last day to withdraw from undergraduate courses Tuesday, June 5
Last day of class Monday July 2
Last day to withdraw from graduate courses Monday July 2
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process Monday July 2
Final examinations During Last Class Meeting
Weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, June 30 - July 1
Summer II
Independence Day - holiday Wednesday, July 4
Last day to apply for September degree Friday , July 6
Last day to apply for comprehensive examination Friday , July 6
Weekend session classes begin July 7-8
Last day to add Weekend Session Class Sunday, July 8
Weekday classes begin Monday, July 9
Registration and program changes end for weekday classes Tuesday, July 10
Last day to withdraw from undergraduate courses Wednesday, August 1
Last day to submit thesis and complete degree requirements Thursday, August 16
Last day to withdraw from graduate courses Thursday, August 16
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process Thursday, August 16
Last weekday class Friday, August 17
Final examinations During Last Class Meeting
Weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, August 18 - 19