Contact Us

The George Sideris Student Travel Awards


Communications and Marketing
Long Island University,

The George Sideris Memorial Fund was established to recognize the unique legacy of Professor Sideris, a biology professor at the Brooklyn Campus for many years, who was best known for his fascinating field ecology and field biology courses in exotic places, such as the Galapagos Islands, Tanzania, Costa Rica, Greece and many parts of the United States. These travel awards are intended to help students defray the costs of traveling to pursue studies in distant places, particularly studies in ecology, environmental sciences, sociology and anthropology.

Each year two or three students will be chosen to receive an award to pursue research or field studies outside the Metropolitan New York area. Projects should be in the fields of biology, or environmental sciences and related areas, such as ecology, health and sociology. The awards are competitive and will be based on a student's proposal, academic standing and field of study. Candidates must be enrolled at LIU-Brooklyn with some course work or credits completed in areas related to the proposed project. The awards are limited in monetary funds and will generally be less than $1000. Awards are not restricted to Biology majors.

Applications for awards should include:

  • A one to two page description of the project, courses taken related to the project (if applicable), location where the project will take place, reason for the chosen location, and any collaborators or agencies helping to fund the project.
  • A curriculum vitae that includes current GPA.
  • An estimated budget for the project, including travel expenses, living expenses, fees or other special costs for pursuing the project, and funds received from other granting agencies for the project.

Deadline for proposals is Monday, March 21, 2016 for Summer and Fall 2016 projects. Submit proposals to Prof. Glen Lawrence (Office in M-703) or in mailbox in M-804 (Science Division Office) no later than 5:00 pm on March 21. If you have any questions, email:

Members of the committee who can field questions include:
Margaret Cuonzo, Philosophy Department:
Carole Griffiths, Biology Department:
Glen Lawrence, Chemistry:
Timothy Leslie, Biology Department:

Posted 02/29/2016

  Return to Press Releases