Contact Us

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Long Island University, responsible for upholding the educational mission and fiscal policies of the University. The Board consists of up to 45 elected trustees from a wide range of backgrounds, each bringing their skills and their experiences to the University. Members of the Board of Trustees serve as legal fiduciaries of the University and are responsible for overseeing the management of the institution.

The officers of the Board are the chairman and the secretary. The president of the University serves as a trustee, ex officio. Trustees are elected to three-year terms and are divided into three classes with staggered terms. Much of the Board's work is carried out by its eight standing and four operating committees.


Eric Krasnoff


Steven J. Kumble H'90

Linda Amper '78, '85
Rao Anumolu
Roger L. Bahnik
Stanley F. Barshay '60
Mark A. Boyar '65
Michael Devine '68
Michael N. Emmerman '67
Daniel B. Fisher '67
Peter Gibson '82
Michael Gutnick '68
Steven S. Hornstein '80
Alfred R. Kahn '84, H'05
Shirley Strum Kenny
Leon Lachman H'12
Brian K. Land '86
Howard M. Lorber '70, '91, H'01
Michael Melnicke
Theresa Mall Mullarkey
Salvatore Naro '83
Richard P. Nespola '67, '73
William Nuti '86
Joel Press '68
Thomas L. Pulling
Daniel Simmons, Jr. '85, H'12
Harvey Simpson
Sharon Sternheim
Ronald J. Sylvestri '66
Edward Travaglianti
Charles Zegar '71
Trustees Emeriti
William F. de Neergaard '47, H'98
Donald H. Elliott H'85
Eugene H. Luntey H'98
John M. May
Richard Stark
Ex Officio
Kimberly R. Cline
H - indicates honorary doctorate from Long Island University